there and back again

I’ve been arguing with Third Socks. They are being difficult. I tried the Sam pattern, and very promptly remembered that I really disliked cabling and so what on earth was I thinking. I ripped, and tried the Monkeys pattern. That was better, but at some point something went wrong with my stitch count, so I had to tink back, then had to tink back some more, then decided to rip a few rounds, then couldn’t find my place, then ripped everything. Which amounted to the third time I ripped this yarn. Leading me to the conclusion that it’s all the yarn’s fault. It’s going in the doghouse for now. I need a break from it.

In the meantime, I’m knitting Second Socks, again. The thing is, one of my friends saw the ones I made (and promptly gave away – after taking these few poor photos), fell in love, and demanded an exact same pair. Insisted that they wanted this pattern and nothing else. Insisted that this was the perfect colour. They are even the same shoe size as the last pair. So I’m knitting the exact same thing again. Can’t say I’m thrilled about it, but sometimes I just give in. It’s ok, they were fun anyway.

And it’s comforting at least, to be knitting something that I know I enjoy, and I know (exactly) how it will turn out. Actually, might be just the thing to cure my frustration from attempts at Third Socks.

And they’re not going in the official count. They’re more of a re-play. Once I’m done with them, I’ll get around to proper Third Socks. Hopefully to finish this time…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

16 thoughts on “there and back again

  1. I think it is fun to knit for someone! Sound like these were winners! Hope it goes better with the Monkeys! They are the only pair of socks I ever knitted, but soon that will not be the case anymore! Enjoy!

  2. That’s kind of you to make “repeat socks”. They are quite beautiful. It’s tempting me to give socks another try. I’ve so far only managed to make them giant sized, despite correct swatching. (At least Dad was happy about the last pair being too big for me.)

  3. Oh sorry about the bad luck with Monkey I thought it was amazing pattern. Good for you for still carrying on with the repeat sock. Maybe it was the yarns fault -not the knitter for sure!

  4. It was nice to read your post in spite of the frustration you’ve felt with your third sock patterns. What I liked was the realization that knitting a successful pattern again is really satisfying especially when you’re doing it for a friend. Too often, I think, we try a new pattern and then move onto another new one. Your post reminded me of the patterns that I like to return to again and again.

    • That’s a good point! I’ve actually always liked returning to old patterns I loved, there are several hats that I’ve knit three or even four times… It’s also interesting to see how the same pattern can change tremendously by varying the yarn a little :)

  5. Sometimes I feel yarn has a mind of itself…! It just doesn’t want to be knit into THAT particular pattern.

  6. Hahaha! I have done the Baudelaire pattern two or three times, I think, because my mom saw mine once and decided she wanted them. And I wanted another pair. I was on a bit of a jag there. But it’s really nothing to be unhappy with. It just makes it easier!

  7. Beautiful socks!!! That’s really nice of you to make them again for your friend :D

    I’m sorry that the other socks didn’t work out, but I’m sure the yarn will eventually decide what it wants to be!

  8. Pingback: Third Socks, second attempt | fridica

Leave a Reply

