a break

I got up earlier than usual today, to finish something up for a deadline, and kept on working at my computer for a while. I haven’t really gotten as much sleep as I would’ve wanted to the last couple of days, and I had a very telling moment at one point: I got an email asking “Can you do this by 11am?”, which completely bamboozled me – since if you had asked me a moment before what time it was, I probably would’ve said “around 2pm”. I was completely shocked that it was only 10 something… Which is a pretty good sign I probably need a bit of a break. I’ll definitely be finding some time to spend today with these two:

After the wonderful response I received to my last book recommendation, I thought I might as well let you know what I’m reading now. I love Toni Morrison and have found everything I’ve read by her so far absolutely unputdownable (‘Beloved’ had me crying, smiling, trembling with fear and cringing, and definitely did not have me putting it down). This one, however, doesn’t have me in such a tight grip yet. It might be because everyone in it seems to be so utterly miserable. So I’m reading it in small increments, I don’t want the misery to cross over to me… ;)

The repeat socks are also a nice source of breaks. Last night I decided to do them sort-of-two-at-a-time. The main reason was the fact that I had finished the simple cuff section on one and was faced with either starting on the heel or putting my knitting down. I was quite tired so didn’t feel like doing anything more complicated than 3×3 ribbing, but I was also in the middle of an audiobook chapter and didn’t want to stop yet. So I decided to put the first sock on a spare needle and cast on for the cuff of the second one. I’ll try to do this for each section, I think it should be a fun new experience! :) I don’t think I’m made for “proper” two-at-a-time, because I don’t like juggling two different yarn balls, I find it quite cumbersome. But this seems like a good method! What are your opinions on two-at-a-time socks?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “a break

  1. No I’m not ready for 2 at a time socks. Too messy with 2 balls of yarn. I like to be able to just grab my knitting and putting in my purse when I go out. Yesterday I cast on Kai-Mei!

  2. Moracu da naucim i ja da radim carape i rukavice na ovaj nacin, stalno to sebi pricam…. i bas zato, kao i ti…. jer uvek moram da pisem sta sam radila na prvoj, a onda obicno prodje vremena dok ne uradim drugu….

  3. I knit two-at a-time but on two different needles (I bought enough Addi turbos). This is my favorite way to knit socks, and the best way for me to avoid SSS! ;)

    I like your socks! I should try rib socks too!

    • Oooh, I forgot you were the expert on needles! I only have one Addi turbo, which is good cause it prevents me from casting on multiple sock patterns at the same time, but I should get at least one more to not have to switch back and forth from a different-sized needle.

  4. I’m really, really, REALLY not fond of 2-at-a-time anything. I can’t seem to avoid messing something up, and the yarn keeps getting tangled, and, well, I have a really sordid sort of love affair with DPNs.

Leave a Reply

