floral saturday

This weekend, I combined my traditional Saturday morning coffee with friends with a visit to a floral exhibition in a recently redeveloped park in Zagreb. The exhibition has been taking place every year for the last 20 or so, and to be honest it’s almost as long as I’ve been planning to go to it. The first time I heard of it was probably somewhere towards the end of primary school, when a teacher was organising a visit but I was unable to go for some reason. Every year since then, when the advertisements popped up around town, I’d catch myself thinking “hmmm, maybe I’ll finally go this year”. And finally, finally, I did!

As might be expected, after so many years of build-up, it was a bit underwhelming. :) But there were still some interesting flower installations. I wouldn’t mind having this airy flower-curtain somewhere around my house…

And I really liked this little bit of botanical art.

I thought the wellies were a nice way of reminding people of the hard work behind all those pretty flowers and plants.

What did you do this weekend? Fulfilled any small dreams? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “floral saturday

  1. The flowers in the wellies are adorable and the flowers off the hangers are awesome! Would be neat to try and recreate that on the side of my house…hmmm… Glad you could finally cross one thing off your list!

  2. Wow, what gorgeous garden inspiration!! I had the laziest of weekends. I think the only real thing I accomplished was going to Ikea.

  3. Moja zadnja posjeta bila je 1997. godine, nije bilo digitalnih aparata, sjećam se da smo razvijali slike poslije, neke aranžmane je stvarno vrijedilo slikati. Drago mi je da idalje vrijedi posjetiti tu manifestaciju.

  4. Botanical gardens and their likes are always so beautiful! Nice activity! I baby-sat my nephew and niece with my sister! That was a lot of fun too! ;-) Hope you are having a nice week so far!

Leave a Reply

