WWKIP Day

It seems that Worldwide Knit in Public Day moved to June 11th this year, but I couldn’t make it yesterday so I stuck to the date I originally learned as WWKIP Day – June 12th. I had my little celebration in a public park today. Here’s the evidence. :)

If you squint and look in the top right-hand corner you can see the people, i.e. the Public. :)

I sat and knit on my Kai-Mei sock in a little peaceful section where several other people were sitting and reading. We were just within earshot of a big celebration of the culture of former Soviet republics, which provided a cheerful soundtrack. And after I fulfilled my “duty” of knitting in public, it also provided an opportunity to practice my Russian a bit, as well as some yummy Georgian specialties to try… All in all, a pretty good WWKIP Day! :)

What did you do?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

11 thoughts on “WWKIP Day

  1. Very cool! The whole week is it, actually June 11 to June 18. My LYS is doing it on the 18th, which is good, since yesterday it poured BUCKETS of rain all day!

  2. I think its great that you knit out in the public. I don’t knit but I cross stitch and I tried to cross stitch in a park once. Everyone was staring and they had a funny face like “why is she stitching in the park” so I just stopped and read my book instead. :-(

    • Aw, you shouldn’t have stopped. I hear stories like these from other people too, but I’ve only ever had good experiences (and I knit in public a lot). I think a lot of it comes down to how you perceive the stares. Because you’re kind of unsure about doing it in public, as soon as someone starts looking at you, you think they are thinking you’re weird. Much more likely is that they’re curious and intrigued – they’re seeing an activity being done that they may have never seen live before. That’s how I see it at least. :)

  3. I love the idea of Knit in Public Day/Week but I knit in public all the time. I just can’t help myself — I’m obsessed! — and whenever I can, I whip my wip out and knit away. So, yesterday wasn’t really any different for me than any other day … except I loved the idea of other knitters around the world, being outside (like you) with their needles and yarn.

  4. Knitting in public is quite the norm for me, I usually have a project with me whereever I go, but you are right, there’s a certain feel to it on that particular occasion… it’s a reason to do a bit more, to be a bit more brave and to knit happily in front of everyone!

  5. Fun! I didn’t knit in public at all that day, but since I do it so often almost every other day, I’m not sure that matters too much. ;)

Leave a Reply

