Third Socks, second attempt

The second pair of Kai Mei is finished, just a few more ends to weave in and blocking to do. I’m feeling quite relaxed about that bit, though, since the recipient won’t get a chance to use them before the fall anyway, so I don’t have to rush. And obviously, casting on for something new is much more exciting. :)

My first attempt at my third official pair of socks did not go so well, so I decided to try something much simpler on my second attempt. I’m going for a toe-up construction again, with just a few very very simple cables to break up the monotony. The yarn I’m using is quite lively on its own so it doesn’t need much activity in terms of texture or pattern.

It’s Ancient Threads Sockittome Select. I think this may have been the first variegated yarn I ever bought in my life. I bought it in a small shop in London almost two years ago, and I don’t think I realised then that it was a very limited yarn by an independent dyer. Sometimes we stumble upon jewels completely unknowingly. I made a baby sweater out of it, and was amazed with how wonderfully the yarn behaved. The stitches look heavenly – they are perfectly even and pop wonderfully with cables. Luckily I had bought two skeins, so now that I am on my way to becoming a sock knitter I can put the second one to its “proper” use. I’m really looking forward to seeing how these come out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “Third Socks, second attempt

  1. The color of the yarn is beautiful, I also went to look at he baby sweater, the does define the stitches beautifully!
    I can’t want to see how this pair turns out!
    Hugs
    Sabrina

  2. What pretty yarn!! Definitely don’t be shy about celebrating simple socks. They are soothing to knit and to wear. No shame in that! I can’t wait to see how this current pair shapes up.

  3. Volim ove sarene vunice, jer se sa njima plete glat i tako super izgledaju :)
    A mislim da su carape od prstiju bolje po tome sto, ako ne znas koliko imas materijala, uvek mozes da pletes dok ti ne nestane :), dok obrnuto ….

    • I’m going to do a slipped stitch heel. I’ve done it a few times cuff-down and really loved it, so I’m interested to see if it works differently toe-up. The only other heel I’ve tried was a short-rows heel and I wasn’t a big fan of that at all… Which kinds of heels have you tried?

  4. Wait…you’re a sock newbie and you completed two pairs of Kai-Mei??? I’ve knit a couple dozen pairs of socks, including lace and cables, and Kai-Mei has me stumped! You are a natureal!

    • Hahah, yup! :) I sort of just decided to give it a try and it worked :) I’m quite good at following patterns if they’re well written, maybe that’s it?

Leave a Reply

