reappearing

Hullo! :) Long time no see! Well, I’ve been seeing you, at least those of you with blogs of your own, and even making a little comment here and there, but you haven’t been seeing a lot of me. If you suspected that I had gotten buried under my giant yarn stash, you were wrong (but thank you to those who actually emailed to check ;). If your suspicion was more in the direction of me and my new ball-winder going off to see the world, you were much closer to the truth. :) In the few weeks I’ve been gone, I’ve changed my permanent geographical longitude again: since Thursday I’ve officially been a resident of Brussels, Belgium, and from Monday I’ll be a worker (t)here too. :)

The preceding weeks have been a whirlwind of interviews, documents, permit applications, work clothes shopping, quick-vacationing, packing and goodbye-saying. This was something I had hoped for and awaited for quite a long time so it was more joy- than stress-inducing, but it sure didn’t leave a lot of time for knitting or blogging.

I expect the upcoming weeks to be a similar whirlwind of apartment-hunting, account-opening, rope-learning, people-meeting, city-exploring, weekend-travelling, etcetera. Exciting! :) I do hope, though, that knitting and blogging will manage to fit in the “etcetera” bit, and that there’ll still be someone here to witness it when I get into my rhythm again… ;)

In the meantime, how’s your summer going? :)

Images are by my friends, from our little vacation on the Croatian island where my grandfather is from.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

28 thoughts on “reappearing

  1. Congrats!! Hope your first week goes well for you and you enjoy every minute. We you get the chance we’d love to see what you are up to.

  2. Congratulations! I envy you and your world travels! What will you be doing? Oh, just curious…how many languages do you speak? Since you travel so much!

    • Thank you :) I’ll be working for a European NGO in higher education, luckily their working language is English so that helped with getting a job, since I don’t speak a word of French! I speak two languages well (Croatian and English) and another three a bit (depending on how much practice and beer I’ve had… :) But all you need for travelling is English – especially in Brussels where EVERYONE seems to speak it (thank goodness!).

  3. Wooo! I’m glad you’re excited – I (hopefully) get to do all this stuff myself in a few weeks, and I’m utterly terrified! We should definitely meet up some time if you’re free, for some craft-related exploring or something :D x

    • Yes, definitely! By the time you arrive I should be a bit more set up, so I can show you around a bit if you want! Good luck with everything :)

  4. I will be traveling with my daughter in September on a tour for her nonfiction book, “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” and will be in Croatia for a while in September. We are both knitters–me life long and she for a few years. I read your post about the Unitas yarn and irregularities which I found fascinating and dismaying for the knitters who assume and/or want consistency. We want to appreciate the arts and crafts that most represent what Croatians love and do. Any ideas for us? We will have some days scheduled and also 4-5 free to travel. Thanks.
    Betsy
    Vancouver, WA USA

  5. I ja sam se pitala sta se sa tobom dogadja, ali pomislila sam da putovanje sigurno ima neke veze sa tim. Pa, nisam puno pogresila.:) Novi posao, novi ljudi, nova mesta…novi pocetak. Nadam se , uskoro, i novi radovi.:)

  6. Wooohooo! Great news (except work clothes shopping, I think I’d hate that :)! I’m now officially looking forward to more Brussels (and not only Brussels!) travelogues :) (kniting-related or not, it doesn’t matter)

    • I was expecting to hate it too. But with the help of two very patient friends, I managed to find a few things I actually like (and all on sales too!). :)

  7. Oh, wow, big changes – a resident of Brussels! Wishing you all the best in that new country, job, and life. Hope you’ll have time to keep us posted on how things go. Baci.

  8. You lucky girl! I visited Brussels quite a few years ago — and just loved it! The food alone made the trip worthwhile. I’m looking forward to reading about life in Brussels and knitting in that part of Europe!

    • Hehe, I think I’ll have to watch out with the food – the Belgians seem to love all things super-fattening (fries, chocolate, beer…) :)))

  9. Wow! There sure is a lot of action in your life right now! That’s great! Enjoy and count on me still being here for when you get into your rhythm again ;-)

  10. Congratulations on your new job – how exciting to be in a new city with every thing it has to offer. Have fun and enjoy it.

  11. Moving can be awesome, but also stressful! Sounds like you are having a good time with it. Congrats on the new job, and good luck finding a great apartment and meeting some cool new people.

Leave a Reply

