why I love Belgium’s national day

It is Belgium’s national day today.

A holiday in my second week already – not bad! It did rain, though, but at some point I just decided to stop moaning about it and ignore it. I ventured out to see what festivities were taking place and I was quite pleasantly surprised! There were throngs of people out despite the rain, and there were lots of things going on – mostly public organisations presenting their activities and getting friendly with the populus :) My favourite was the demonstration of the abilities of police dogs – I think I hung around for about half an hour watching well-padded mock-criminals get restrained within seconds by these super-trained dogs. It was really impressive. And at some point, even the rain stopped.

(And then it started back again.)

But the main reason I love this holiday is because it gave me an opportunity to just sit and knit for a few hours. I started off yesterday with my official first attendance at the Brussels Stitch’n’Bitch. It was lovely. They were so welcoming and relaxed, I couldn’t have wished for better. I can’t wait to go again! I got some good work done on my sock there, and even powered through some finger pain and did more than I usually do in one sitting. It got me so energised that I even knit some more when I got home!

And then some more today.

And when it actually started looking like a sock, rather than just a funky tube, I fell in love with it completely, all over again.

Now I can’t stop. It’ll be done in no time! :) Yaaaay for national holidays and all their benefits! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

21 thoughts on “why I love Belgium’s national day

  1. Ahh, I heard it was National Day today, and I wondered what it entailed! You’re so brave, going to the S’n’B! Is there a predominant language in the group? I know it sounds silly but I’m really intrigued by it all (and I’d be that much more scared of going if the main language was French or Dutch!) x

    • The S’n’B is in English, actually! It was founded by a Finnish lady precisely because there were no other English-speaking knit groups here (if I remember the story correctly). It was a lot of fun, definitely the most welcoming knit group I’ve ever been to! :)

  2. Ooh that dog show sounds ace. I love all dogs and my favourite thing about airports is the drug dogs. There was a brilliant one at Tallinn Airport running along on the suitcase conveyor and sniffing all the luggage.

    Love the sock too!

  3. Your sock is lovely.

    I’m glad you’re having a great time in Belgium so far. One of the great, great, great things about knitting is that you can almost certainly find a new group of best friends wherever you go. Psh, who says it’s a solitary hobby? :)

  4. Good that you are enjoying your new home – great that the sock is coming on so well – remember you have to do two!!

  5. Good timing for a national festivity! I must say, it looks so chilly there – but the weather here is not all that much better, and on some days this month of July feels more like the fall than midsummer. Hope your new job and life in Belgium are going well.

  6. What a cute little sock! It’s excellent that you liked the group at your new Stitch ‘n Bitch! I have made great friends with ours too!

    • It’s so nice to be able to come to a new country and already have a group of people that you can just join for an evening here and there… Perhaps we might not all become lifelong friends, but it’s so wonderful to have somewhere to start from. :)

  7. That is one marvelous sock! I’m not much of a sock knitter, myself, but when I see great patterns like this one, my hands get a little itchy. The Stitch ‘n Bitch sounds like it was great fun. Sometimes just being around other knitters can get the creative juices flowing again.

  8. Nice sock. :)

    I was wondering… I’m travelling to Split in Croatia this autumn and thought of buying some yarn – would you happen to know if there are a lot of yarn shops or should I try to find some address beforehand? I’m there only 3 days.

  9. Here it goes:
    1. I sooo envy the S’n’B you attended! Lucky you! I just love these kinds of gatherings. You meet new friends and always learn something new.
    2. It’s always great to start off your career with a holiday. There can never be enough holidays :)))
    3. It seems that we in these parts of the world are a bit picky when it comes to the weather. It is always a problem for us when it rains, when it’s windy, or snowing, or hot, or whatever. My husband spent six weeks in Norway recently and out of those six five were rainy and the rest extremely windy. The Norwegians didn’t seem to mind at all. They have a saying that there is no bad weather, just inappropriate clothes.

    • Sorry, but I disagree. I can’t describe wanting some sun and warmth in July as being picky :) But thanks for reminding me of Norway – I also spent two months there in the summer a few years ago, and at least that was worse than Brussels :)

Leave a Reply

