reposting: “KIP it real”

I’ve only ever had good experiences with knitting in public. Perhaps it’s also in the attitude, when people stare, I tend to interpret it as “Look, they’re fascinated by what I’m doing!” instead of as “Ouch, they think I’m a weirdo”. And perhaps I’m just lucky – I’ve never had something like this happen to me. But if that story discourages you, do go and read this one. If anyone ever asks me again why I knit, I will send them that link to read. And they’re not even things that have happened to me. :)

Stay proud, knitters. :) :*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

11 thoughts on “reposting: “KIP it real”

  1. I knit in public regularly, and usually people are just fascinated that fabric is being created with a tiny thread. For the friends who tease me, I just let them know that when the apocalypse happens, I’ll be toasty warm and they will be begging for lessons.

  2. Well, I never have the time when in public! I’m always on one errand or another. And I either go by bike or drive, which means I can’t knit. At least not safely and probably not legally (although I would like to try while riding a bike!). I’ve knit on a bus and in a doctor’s waiting room but I admit I’d be embarrassed to knit in a crowded cafe. Usually, when I take out the knitting in, say, a waitng room, there’s a brief moment of intense silence, during which everybody’s eyes are turned to me. Then slowly the talking continues and they either lose interest or keep glancing at me as if wanting to start a conversation but are too shy to do so. A few times I’ve been asked what it is that I am knitting and then a story would follow on how that person (and it’s always a woman) used to knit but can’t find the time or doesn’t have the necessary patience any more.

  3. I think I only knit in public at my knit and knatter group which is held in a cafe. We quite often have someone come up and ask us about our craft. On the odd occasion that I have popped in with no plan to stay for the session and therefore no knitting I feel like a fish out of water!

  4. I only KIP with my knit-night group and we do get some comments or stared/pointed at. Always nice or of course the classic ‘can we order slippers?’ ;-) I also post status and pictures on FB and my friends always say nice things about it. FB is almost KIP!

  5. I have just get home from a 11 hours train trip. And I knitted during that trip for the first time ever in train. For a few moments I wonder how everyone in my car would react, and then I thought I really want to finish my sleeve. So I started, just like that is the most usually thing that people do. I was so concentrate to knit, so I didn’t see how others reacted. But after some time I get positive feedback from one lady and her husband :) But the weirdest thing was that some teenagers (boys) looked at me just like I was listening to the music instead of knitting. I would say I had pretty good knitting for the first time in train ;)

  6. I knit on train on my way home from job. well, not now, in the summer, but I will start again after holidays. I don’t give a damn what other passengers think. it’s less disturbing than music from iphones one can hear sometimes. those people who work on trains … make holes in tickets … how they are called? … they don’t mind and that’s the only thing that matters.

    • I’ve heard conflicting stories about conductors telling people knitting on trains is not allowed (danger of poking someone’s eye out if the train stops suddenlty) and telling them it’s perfectly ok, so as long as they don’t tell you anything, you should just go on! :)

Leave a Reply

