sunday afternoons

You know that little thing that’s been sitting in the corner of your flat for weeks, postponed and postponed, pushed further and further out of sight, not because it’s difficult or that time-consuming, but because it’s simply uninteresting, and perhaps a bit tedious? A-ha. You know what I’m talking about. I have it too. But somehow, on some Sunday afternoons, it feels just right to pick it up, sit down quietly, listening to the wind outside, and finally deal with it.

For me, it’s this little instrument. I always, always, always postpone it.

Part of the reason is that I’m not very good at it. I was fascinated several weeks ago at knit night when a fellow-knitter seamed her entire pullover right there and then, at a little crowded cafe table, in a semi-dark room, over a drink. Oh no, for me it looks more like this:

A manual, an instruction video, a big clear and bright flat surface, lots of space to take a break if I get frustrated… :)

Tell me, how do you seam? And how do you spend your Sunday afternoons? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

17 thoughts on “sunday afternoons

  1. Oh, I always always always procrastinate seaming, too! If I do any, it is inevitably on the weekend. Sort of on the subject, have you seen the article/tutorial on seaming in the newest Twist Collective issue? Some of the pictures look really helpful! Good luck with your seaming and happy Sunday!

  2. I have no problem with seaming itself, but I tend to put to rest projects that are almost finished (I’m still figuring out why I’m doing that). If you don’t like to seam, you could try 3 needle bind off and/or seamless projects.
    About Sunday afternoons…they can be awesome (like when traveling, big cities are so different on Sunday), lazy, boring (most often), just another day, slow etc. I try to use that time and do something but very often I find myself wandering in the house and feeling blue. I find that I’m more productive and definitely more happy if I’m not alone or take a walk outside.

  3. Oh, the dreaded seaming! I hate it too. I don’t have that much room on my table, so I place the knitting on the couch, place myself on the floor and seam while muttering profanities. And you know that Croatian has many juicy curse words. In one seaming session I go trough pretty much all of them.

  4. I can put off the finishing for ages – when I get to almost done i think that mentally i am finished and it can sit for ages waiting to be blocked or seamed or buttoned with the ‘Oh, almost done – just to do the ………whatever’.

    I trhink that sometimes if all has gone well i feel i might blow it at the last gasp. Confident, huh?

  5. Oh. This calls my mental attention to a dress I’ve been neglecting to seam….maybe next Sunday. I really, really love to START things.

  6. Ooh I hate seaming! Unless it’s the kitchener stitch which I still think is so cool that I pretty much giggle to myself in the corner while my knitted pieces seemingly magically attach themselves. I’mreallyweird :/

    • Hahaha, this WAS kitchener stitch! But I’ve had some bad experiences with sticky (felting-prone) yarn – I was kitchenering along nicely, and when I tried to pull the yarn tight after about 1 inch, it started snagging, getting stuck, and evenutally breaking :( So now I’m scared of that every time… But this yarn worked fine! :)

  7. I don’t really like seaming sweaters or cardigans either. And yes, for me too it’s because I’m not too good at it. Although each time I can see that I’m improving. I guess there is some hope that some day it will be as easy or half as easy as for your fellow knitter who can do that so casually!

  8. For me it’s not the Sunday afternoons (I almost feel like I don’t know what to do with myself!), for me it’s the Sunday mornings: I’ll sit quietly on my sofa in the good light while it’s nice and quiet in the house and around – and then I can get on doing all sorts of things that I need to concentrate on, or if I’m still rather tired I just like to sit and knit for a little bit. It’s the perfect start to a Sunday!

      • Hope you didn’t suffer too badly!
        On another note: has anyone tried the seamless jumpers in Elizabeth Zimmermann’s ‘Knitting Without Tears’? They are a great knit (I’m on my second) and best of all: NO SEAMING! And they’re nice shapes too, love them: round yoke, raglan, saddle shoulder and hybrid. I can recommend them.

  9. My first seaming experience was last weekend. I started doing it while we were watching The Big Lebowsky. I have to say that I finished a sleeve and I am very pleased :)

  10. Hi there! Thanks – I am very proud to be able to .impress you. But I am sure that if there’s one right and wrong way I am doing it the wrong way. Have never looked up how it should be done and if we were to compare our seems I bet.mine would look like butchered corpses next to yours. Other than that we need Dalek-projects in our lives.

  11. Yeah, I know EXACTLY what that’s like. Except it’s been blogging, not seaming, for me. Guh. There are no instruction videos for that :(

Leave a Reply

