chilly sunday

It. is. really. cold. here.

So I have no choice but to bundle up with a biiiiig mug of coffee (with some chocolate flavour added, of course) and my knitting. Before we go on to a proper FO post for the socks you glimpsed in the last post, let me show you what I’m working on now. The red socks from last week are actually my “Fourth Socks”, and I feel bad showing them off when I haven’t finished “Third Socks” yet. I’m doing my best to rectify the situation, though!

I’m working on these sort-of two at a time. I want to use up all the yarn, so I’m knitting them toe-up, one from each end of the skein (for one I’m using the centre-pull end of the skein, and for the other the outer end of the thread). I knit one section of one sock (e.g. up to the heel-flap), then leave that sock aside and knit the same section of the second sock. It’s working very nicely, I like this method! It also makes it easier to remember what I did on one sock and repeat it on the other one…

Another thing that’s been helping me remember everything properly is this little gizmo.

I know some people find row-counters to be useless, but I wanted to try one and I’ve found it really helpful (it’s also quite satisfying to look at it and go “whoa, I’ve knit eighty six rows!”)! It is tiny, though, and prone to wandering off in the recesses of my bed-slash-knitting-studio, so I decided to make it into a necklace (I must remember to take it off my neck before leaving the house though, as I can imagine it’s not quite the trendy accessory everyone’s been talking about… ;). What luck that I had some perfectly matching yarn!

Hope you all have a warm Sunday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

15 thoughts on “chilly sunday

  1. Posto mi ne vodimo racuna koje su ovo carape po redu, nemoj da te bude sram sto ne ides po “redu” :) .
    Ovaj post je pun dobrih saveta :)
    Brojac redova je zaista sjajna stvarcica, kada se radi nesto u cemu je bitan broj redova. Moj ima kruzic na jednom kraju, pa ga zakacim za duplu iglu, i onda na majicu, tu negde kod srca :) Huh, takodje moram da se setim da ga skinem – moj dodje meni kao bros :)
    Druga stvar, koja je odlicna je onaj naprstak za razdvajanje razlicitih boja :) – meni je mnogo koristio kad kod sam radila nesto tako sareno.

  2. I hope you can finish your socks soon. Brussels was cold and rainy today. I arrived a couple of hours ago to Spain and my niece tried the jacket I made for her. The size will be fine in some months. A bit cold but blue sky and sunny. Take care.

  3. I also love using a row counter! Who are these people who don’t like it!? Crazy.

    Socks look great – I have yet to try the two-at-a-time method, but maybe I will. I’m having a hard time motivating myself to work on the pair I have on the needles right now!

  4. I love row counters. I’ve bought a bazillion of them because it always seems like I’ve used them all up on different projects. It has made pattern writing a bit easier too.

    And I can’t wait to see 3rd socks done!

  5. oh, that’s what that gadget is – a row counter!
    sorry about the weather in your country of adoption … it’s quite a bit cooler here too today, it will soon be time for socks :)

  6. I love doing socks at the same time toe up. You can also do them on the same long needle (100cm or bigger) which could help you always keep them straight.

  7. I’m having mixed feelings about the colder weather….one the one hand, we get to wear knits! On the other hand, it’s cold and kind of unpleasant. I guess the glass is half full? Or the mug of hot beverage heh heh.

Leave a Reply

