wind all the things

I don’t quite have time to knit all the things right now, but I compensated for it a bit on Friday evening by winding all the things.

Yes, that is pretty much every unwound skein of yarn that I had lying around, after my crazy winding session! Now just to get those needles clicking… :)

Hope you’re having a great weekend! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

14 thoughts on “wind all the things

    • Actually, I don’t have a swift at all! I used a makeshift improvisation with a lazy susan, but it was making my yarncakes way too tightly wound. So, the truth behind this photo is even worse – I wound each of these twice! Once to get it into a ball, and the second time to wind it more loosely… :D

      The whole experience taught me that I really do need a proper swift…

  1. A, sto je dobra foto !!
    Izprva sam mislila da je sve realno, a tek onda videla da je odraz :)
    Stize zima, i duge noci …. taman da potrosis barem pola, ne bojim se :)

    • Hmmm, to be honest no :D I prefer the moment after I’ve done about 5 cm already, am passed the fiddly cast-on, know that my tension is working out as planned and am in a good knitting rhythm :)

  2. Whoa!! I love your Tower of Yarn! What an inspiring image. I can’t wait to see what becomes of all that. I’m totally with you about hitting the 5cm point of the knitting, too. For me, casting on and that first awkward row is not as fun as getting into the meat of the project and starting to see it take shape.

  3. Wow, it looks amazing! So there are other knitters who don’t like the CO and the first rows, yay I’m not alone. It’s hard to explain, but I think in my case it’s some kind of fear of failing at the very start of the project, and since in those first rows I can’t tell weather my gauge was correct or not, I’m always ambivalent; exited for starting sth new and anxious of having to frog it and start over.

Leave a Reply

