seasonal

Yarn shops here in Brussels seem to take a very seasonal approach to yarn. A few weeks ago, I found myself walking into one particular shop with the intention of getting a few more skeins of Malabrigo sock, which had been overflowing on its shelves the last time I had been there, in the summer. I was in for a surprise, though. All the shelves which had been full of Malabrigo in the summer were now tipping over with Cascade 220. The remainders of Malabrigo were huddling sadly in one little corner. I remembered then that back in the summer I had noticed out of the corner of my eye some Cascade, itself peeking out of the sales basket then.

Now I won’t get into the story about how summer here was freaking cold and how there is really no reason to be seasonal about yarn when seasons don’t really exist here anyway. Let’s leave that frustration about my adopted country for some other day… ;)

But I think it’s pretty obvious that I had no choice but to give Cascade 220 Heathers a try. And so I did (if you define “giving a try” as “buying tons of”, as you may have seen in my last post). This little sweetie (a true gem by Jared Flood) is the result, and I couldn’t be happier with it. I won’t waste too many words on the pattern, I think its loveliness is fairly self-evident.

As for the yarn, I was pretty happy. The price is reasonable. It is pleasant to knit with. It’s not necessarily the softest (my ears do itch a bit when I wear it), but it doesn’t bother me too much. The colours are nice. The only real objection I have is that I’d like the colours to be a bit more heathery, a bit more tweedy. As it is, this colour at least, looks pretty much like a sturdy solid, which is not what I want from a yarn called “Heathers”. But all in all, I like this yarn, and I’m more than happy to have tons of it at home waiting for more projects! :)

How about your countries? Do yarn shops exhibit seasonal behaviour there as well?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

16 thoughts on “seasonal

  1. Here- VA in the US- I’ve noticed some seasonalization. Basically, the cotton blends show up in the summer and more of the bulky stuff in the winter, but most stores keep the a lot of the same stock year round, especially in regards to the ‘workhorse’ yarns like Cascade 220 and sock yarns. It’s strange that there’s such a radical difference- you’d think they’d try and keep a bunch of options in stock all year round…

  2. In Illinois, in the US, we have a bit of seasonalization. You’ll find a lot of bulkier yarns starting in October (for the Fall and Winter), and then more lighter yarns starting in April. I had only noticed this because my mom used to knit. Now that I have started myself, I will have to start paying attention to the trends :)

  3. Ahh, jealous! Cascade 220 seems so hard to find here :( Which is a shame as, if I recall correctly, it’s a really nice all-round sort of yarn :( Nothing particularly seasonal round here, but my LYSs aren’t much to shout about anyway!

  4. I haven’t noticed seasonal changes in yarn here in California. But the area I live in doesn’t really have weather. It’s pretty pleasant most of the time.

  5. Love the hat! Yes, in Chicago we definitely have a bit of a change, but all the LYS in the area have Cascade 220 AND sock yarns all the time. It’s mostly things like DK weights and cottons that get shifted around.

  6. In Italy shops tend to be seasonal only by selling mostly cottons in spring and summer and wool in autumn and winter, but I think you could find both all time roound maybe with less choice.
    But then I’m kind of lucky, as I leave not too far from 2 mills and I buy most of the yarn from them at really good prices.
    I really like Cascade, it’s really good for it’s price and you can use it in many occasions

  7. That color is absolutely gorgeous! It looks really good on you. You can probably guess the seasonal behavior of the shops in Rijeka – cotton in the summer, acrylics in the fall/winter. But never in such pretty colors. Thank God for online yarn shops!

  8. Dude, I love me some Cascade 220, it’s my bread and butter. My LYS has a whole wall devoted to it! I love what you’ve done with your orange heather there–the asymmetry of the hat is really cool.

  9. Oh yes, the seasons definitely have an influence on yarn shops here. Don’t even think about trying to buy wool here from about March to September. And cotton the rest of the year. It’d be a total waste of time.

    And your hat looks great. The colour suits you.

  10. Cascade 220 is my FAVORITE yarn. It’s inexpensive and knits up wonderfully in so many ways. All (well, many) the yarn shops here in the Midwest USA stock it year-round.

  11. I just cast on the Rosebud hat yesterday in a dark brown buffalo-alpaca-wool blend… but I love love love yours in the red! Methinks another hat is in my future! :)

Leave a Reply

