hat to the rescue!

In my last post I wrote about the trouble with finding the right xmas gifts for my friends and family. But even if I had to get three different presents for each and every one of my family members, it would still not be as difficult as finding something for my brother. And I’m not alone. Big Brother has probably received enough aftershave-showergel sets to last him several lifetimes. Simply no one knows what to get him. Ever. In one moment of desperation I even considered simply giving him some money and letting him pick out those elusive things he really wants on his own. But that remains too heartless an option for me (not to mention that I would feel more than a little silly giving a 35-year-old pocket money :D). This year, though, I remembered something that I hadn’t tried before – handmade. And so, after the successful completion of his son’s hat, I decided I had it in me to knit another one in 2 days for my bro.

Stash again came to the rescue (what a wonderful thing!), it turned out that I had two yarns that went great together so all I needed to do was go ahead. Taught by the previous experience, I wove in loose ends as I went and held yarn more loosely at colour changes. I started on December 23rd and thought this knitting would be a great companion to the family rituals of eating, talking and watching TV in the next two days. We usually get together with my brother’s family only in the evening of the 25th, so I had plenty of time to wrap this baby up! My wrist was starting to complain a bit after that much knitknitknitknitknitknitknitknit without any purls or yarn-overs or any sort of other movements (yes, there is such a thing as too much stockinette!), but I was dealing with it ok.

And then the ball dropped. My mother announced that bro and his family had decided to stop over in the evening of the 24th for some joint Christmas cheer and exchanging presents. Whaaaaaaat! I was robbed of a good 24 hours of the race to the finish! Despairing and panicking, I decided that the only reasonable thing to do was wrap what I had – the yarn – along with a sweet note and hope that no offense would be taken for my gift-tardiness. I had read about this solution in so many knitters’ blogs and heard about it in so many knitters’ podcasts that it seemed perfectly normal and even kinda predictable to me.

Well, not to anyone else. That’s not to say Brother didn’t love the gift! He, and everyone else, thought it was an Absolutely Hilarious Best Ever Idea to wrap the yarn. Though we always make a big funny show of opening our gifts (even if they are something reaaaally small, it’s just our little tradition), this reaction will be entered into history books. The surprise, shock and hilarity on my brother’s face were such that my Mom later actually expressed regret that we did not own a video-camera, “precisely for great moments like that”!!! I did not have the heart to admit to everyone that this was not such a crazy original idea as they thought, that I had just nicked it from other knitters… But I guess that’s ok. And if it’s going to cause similar reactions in your loved ones, I definitely recommend that you nick the idea too… :)

This is the larger version of the hat, with an extra 8 stitches. As demonstrated by my niece, while also created to fit closely around the head, if you have a smaller head and are an uber-cool teenager, you can wear it as a hipster hat as well. ;)

Perhaps next year’s gifts should be the same hats for her and my sister in law? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “hat to the rescue!

  1. I’m a little sad there isn’t a picture of your brother’s face when he opened his gift! I suppose this is a moment where a photo IS worth 1000 words.

  2. This is so funny! My surronding is kind of still surprised that I knit and they often have lots of questions and question marks like in their face or something! I sure can imagine my brother’s reaction if I gifted him an unfinished knit with the yarn in the box and all! He’d be sweet with me because he’s my big brother but I think he might be a little surprised and speechless not to say the least ;-)

  3. heh heh, the power (and traditions) of the knitters is secret to those without the needles. Wonderful that he loved the present (now you know to give him handmade in the future) and that they all laughed at the wrapping of the yarn. A good idea is worth stealing! ;)

  4. I’m curious now: did you finish the hat for him while he was there? Or keep it, finish it and send it to him?
    It’s a marvellous idea! Hadn’t come across that before.

      • Oh I’m so glad! I was a little surprised to hear that everyone had such a strange and quite strong reaction, if they insist on coming a whole day earlier, what did they expect? Miracles? I think you very, very well there!
        Such a wonderful thing that you could finish it and hand it over while you were all still there. Marvellous hats!

Leave a Reply

