handmade for the nest

I will be moving house soon. When I started looking for new places to live, the thought occurred to me that maybe I should move on from the shared house option to a single studio or small flat that would be just for myself. I am after all, no longer a student, I am working and earning money, and I am certainly of the age that merits living in my own flat. The idea, however, was (and still is a bit) scary. I’ve never rented something completely on my own! I’ve always had roommates, flatmates, housemates… and somehow that makes the responsibility and commitment less intense. But then I started thinking about it – not having to share the fridge, the cupboards, the bathroom, organising things by my own rules, decorating to my taste… My little nest. :)

I am still looking for the place. But the daydreaming about how to decorate it has already begun. :) Here are several items that will most definitely have very prominent places! They were gifts from my friends, handmade with me in mind, making me feel all special and warm and fuzzy. Just the kind of things a nest needs!

My friend Caroline made this for my birthday. Not only does it embody who I have been in recent years, but it also reflects Caroline so well (I would recognise her choice of second-hand vintage fabric anywhere!), as well as one of the many things that connects us – our mutual love of craft and handmade.

While Caroline is not only a friend but also a neighbour, this bird came from further away. She was handmade by the inspiring Francesca in Italy. Do not be fooled into thinking she is only beautiful. No, she is nesting among my yarn for another reason as well – her tummy is full of homegrown lavender, and she is making sure the yarn is safe from moths and smells nice as well!

And as for friends even further away, they also get a spot in my little nest – lately I’ve been nurturing the habit of always having some letters or postcards lying around, waiting to be sent off to dear people across the globe, just to remind them that someone is thinking of them… And to make sure they don’t get lost or scattered before they reach the mailman, this little brick pebble, decorated with crochet by Francesca, keeps them in place.

I am continuously grateful to these two wonderful girls for the little treasures they created for me.

And what kind of handmade lovelies play small but essential roles in your nests?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “handmade for the nest

  1. Mostly the handmade treasures are on the walls here. There’s the big embroidery that my friend made for me and DH when we were married (we got that framed, and it’s hanging over our bed). Then there are the paintings by my reserve grandmother (she sort of took over when my gm died), and of course the drawings by our oldest boy. Finally there are the blankets made by many friends for our boys… they reside on our couch to be used by all warmth seeking persons ;)

  2. Nekim ljudima promena tesko pada, ali mislim da ti nisi od njih, i da ces samo uzivati na novom mestu !
    Ziveti sam ima mnogih prednosti, od kojih je meni omiljena da, kad udjem u stan, ostavim torbu na prvo koraku, jaknu na drugom, i sve tako do kreveta ili tusa :)

    Od kako sam i ja dobila novi prostor, organizovala sam ga tako da vidim u svakom trenu drage sitnice … ima tu nekih novijih poklona, ali i nekih statua ili sitnica koje broje decenije ….

    A ova lavanda pticica uopste nije losa ideja ….

  3. Good luck with finding a place of your own! I lived alone even when I was a student and I enjoyed it, I’m sure you will too :) It can get lonely but the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, I think.

  4. Good luck with finding your own little nest! Yes it’s a little scary but you will be so happy! Be sure to check everything (I mean it, really everything!) before signing the rent! :)

  5. How exciting! I skipped that part (moved in with DH after moving out of parents’ place) and I’m very happy for you that you get to experience the joy of your own place. Good apartment hunting! ;)

  6. Living alone is AWESOME (not that I dislike living with my spouse, but seriously, AWESOME). You can sit around without any pants on, whenever you want. Lavender wards off moths? I did not know that.

Leave a Reply

