first

Things happened really fast.

This past week has been spent in deconstructing and reconstructing furniture, packing and unpacking, heavy lifting and gently putting down, submitting and applying for various documents. And on Sunday, I got to sleep in my flat. I’ve decided to stop saying my new flat, since it’s the only flat I’ve ever had so it’s not technically my new flat (and, just to be clear, by had I mean rented all by myself), it’s my first flat. And now, with that, everything is a first. First sleeping in the flat, first meal eaten in the flat, first shower in the flat, first coming home from work to the flat… It’s like my little part of the world has been created anew, every mundane little experience is somehow fresh and exciting, and I am relishing all the firsts.

So sooner or later it had to happen too – first knitting in the flat.

It felt soooo good. After a week in which there was barely any time to sit and be still, a week in which my hands went rough from the cold and all the tool-handling and carrying, a week which brought about so much change – to sit down with my favourite activity, in silence, listening to the sounds of my new neighbourhood outside – I felt my whole body relax, exhale and say “home”.

There is much nesting left to be done. And for sure – knitting is going to be a big part of it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

12 thoughts on “first

  1. Congratulations! I remember the excitement of living on my own for the first time. It’s a great feeling, enjoy it :) Have fun in your (new) flat, I wish that you have many memorable moments in it :)

  2. congrats on the home and getting settled in! Glad that you are getting some knitting time in, as well. It always takes a while to really feel settled, but knitting in your new space has got to help!

  3. This is why I LOVE moving – all those firsts.. and how in the beginning all the sounds seem strange, but you know you’ll get used to them and they’ll be the sounds of home.
    This fall I moved two floors up in the same house, but even in the same house, the new apartment offered completely new experiences; it was oriented on another side, so I could hear completely new neighbor noises, the light and smell were different… yeah I’m a big moving lover :)

  4. Moving is such a pain, but such a nice ‘starting over’ feeling…are you still in the same area, or did you get a new job and move cities? Now that you live by yourself I would highly recommend sitting around in your undies.

    • No, no, I just moved house – job and city stayed the same :) It’s funny, another friend of mine also recommended nudity :D but I think I’ll have to wait with that until I get curtains ;)

  5. It is always hard work and most wonderful to move to your own place. Happy to hear you’ve gotten to the knitting stage again.

Leave a Reply

