two sundays ago

Two Sundays ago, I enjoyed a most gloriously sunny and relaxing day in Edinburgh. Today I had a similarly sunny and relaxing day in Brussels, so maybe that’s why I’m finally ready to face the fact that I’m no longer in Edinburgh (I tell you, I fell head over heels for that city!) and write about it here ;) I’m afraid I didn’t take too many photos, I preferred taking in the sights and breathing in the crisp air – but here is a small selection.

On advice of a very good friend, I wandered around the city in the direction of Water of Leith. It was quite nice wandering, as it took me past places that looked like this.

I was quite proud of myself for managing to find this fairly easily!

But nothing, not even the previous three days in beautiful, beautiful Edinburgh, could prepare me for the magic that awaited me down there. The sound of gurgling water. The feel of unspoilt nature, as if I had walked into a magic forest. The calm of it all. The companionship of buildings and foliage – to such an extent that you feel as if the stone structures weren’t built by man, but simply arose from the ground, or at best were placed there by giants in ancient times. And all in the middle of a living city. Magic, just magic. I have no other words for it.

There were many other things I saw, and loved, in Edinburgh. The city took me completely by surprise. Even though I travel quite a lot, I still adore it and enjoy exploring every new place I go to. But this, the joy it brought me to discover this place – it was so fresh, so inspiring, so exhilarating – I felt as if it had been the first time ever I had left my tiny village and gone to see the big bright world.

I wish I could put it in better words, but I can’t. You’ll just have to trust me on this one: go there. And when you do, take a stroll along that walkway. It was the best piece of travel advice ever given to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

11 thoughts on “two sundays ago

  1. Lovely photos! It looks like you had fantastic weather, as well. Edinburgh is a great city for walking. It took my breath away when I visited as well, and in an odd twist of fate now I live there and sometimes forget to enjoy how beautiful it can be. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Did we really have such blue sky in Edinburgh recently..? I don’t remember… ;-)
    It is indeed a beautiful city, Edinburgh… I’m glad you liked it. Hugs xxx

  3. <3 Edinburgh. It's trying to lure you in with the sunny skies – move there and you discover the reality which is all possible weathers in one day… But still, I do love Edinburgh.

    • Haha, that’s what I said too! Thanks for the yarn shop tip, I did stop by, though as you said – the selection wasn’t that huge. I’ll definitely be back some day, and maybe then we manage to meet up :)

Leave a Reply

