drips

I’m not a hyperactive test-knitter, but every once in a while a project comes along at the right time and then I go for it! It’s a very nice feeling, helping a designer sort out the kinks, and contributing to perfect a pattern that many will use later on. As a matter of principle, I volunteer to test-knit things that I would knit and wear under normal circumstances, i.e. I won’t waste anyone’s time test-knitting a design I don’t particularly like. I had no such qualms when I came across this one!

The designer, Bethany Hill, describes drips as a spunky, slightly slouchy colorwork hat made to mimic the appearance of paint drips running down the beanie and emphasizes that it is meant to be knit and worn playfully. To this I can add that it is an absolutely fun, easy and quick knit (it took me only two days to finish!). And I highly recommend making the pompom as large as you can! I loved the hat without it, but the pompom just added that something extra to it.

The pattern is free and available through Ravelry. Details on the yarn I used are on my project page.

Have a fun weekend, everyone! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

13 thoughts on “drips

  1. Yay! Thanks for blogging this! And I do love how you did the ribbing… looks so nice!

    I would love to see someone knit it with variegated yarn… awesome idea Audry.

  2. Love your colors! Bethany is in a knitting group I attend sometimes. How fun that you found each other through her pattern!

Leave a Reply

