the crochet blanket has been launched

I’ve been dreaming of making a crochet blanket for a long time… It was pretty much the only reason why I wanted to add crochet to my skillset. So, without further ado, as soon as I figured out the basicest of basics of how this hooking thing works, I jumped right in!

I’m using this lovely free pattern and I’m super happy with it. This is fun fun fun! And I’m using a bulky yarn (Cascade Eco+) so things should move ahead quite fast. But one thing I do worry about is the seaming. Look at all the ends that are involved in just one square! Crocheters, help! How do you deal with this? Is there a nifty trick that will spare me a few headaches..?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “the crochet blanket has been launched

  1. I have woven MANY an end! Tip #1: try to crochet the end in right from the beginning. That will mean when you weave it in later, there’s less work to do. Tip #2: Weave it in a little more than you think you need to, don’t be stingy. My first few blankets have come apart in places because I didn’t weave in enough. Tip #3: Weaving ends is the perfect activity to do on the bus or train! I know you love to craft in-transit, and it’s so easy to take a few motifs on the train and weave in the first three rounds, leaving the last round for after they are joined. Good luck!

    • Thanks for the advice, especially the bit about not being stingy, as I was definitely tempted to go in that direction… :)

      By the way, the fact that you wrote “I know you love to…” totally warmed my heart :) After a year of (to put it mildly) intermittent blogging, it’s so nice to know that regular readers are still here :)

  2. Here are two videos about how to weave in the ends as you go. This is what I always do now. It works very well.

  3. The colors are gorgeous! I don’t have particularly tricks for weaving…. I just try to weave-in as I go and try not to wait until the blanket is finished.

  4. Pingback: assembly | fridica

Leave a Reply

