babies all around

Today was a crazy day – my best friend in the world had her first baby! I stayed up most of the night reading and responding to her text messages, and just being happy :) It was wonderful to share these moments with her and I look forward to knitting loads and loads for her little boy.

In general, babies have lately been popping up all around me, and I am becoming quite an expert in tiny knits! This little gem was one of them and I can only highly recommend the (free) pattern.

It is interesting to knit (it involves a very clever use of short rows), and in a thick yarn is very quick! The final shape is best described as “head-hugging” – designed to stay on and keep as much of the head as warm as possible.

Upon some reflection I decided to sew on two buttons, so that the chin strap will be adjustable and the hat will last a bit longer, even with those fast-growing babies.

Finally, a word on the yarn – it is Spud and Chloe Sweater, which to be honest I’m not a big fan of. It is very soft, but after several projects I’ve just had to conclude that I don’t like how the stitches look, so, especially with the price, I won’t be bothering with it anymore once I use up what’s in my stash. I know many people are very happy with this yarn, but it’s just not my thing.

I’ll have some more baby knits to show you soon! Stay tuned… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

7 thoughts on “babies all around

  1. It’s very cute, and the buttons are an adorable addition! I really wish someone I know would have a baby so that I could make them this hat … Knitwear for babies is about my favourite thing.

    • I started it out as a gender-neutral gift, but in the end the colours changed my mind and it ended up being for a girl. But the pattern itself is totally gender-neutral!

  2. Pingback: Aviatrix baby hat

Leave a Reply

