man hat

With the winter and the gifting season firmly on the way, the one question I most often get from both friends who are knitters and those who considering giving it a try is: can you recommend a hat pattern for a man? It usually comes with the additional explanation that it should be really simple, but really really simple. Some want the simplicity because they fear that their skills are not up to the task, all want it because they know the man will not wear anything else.

Well, luckily, as I wrote several times on here already, I have the perfect answer: Jane Richmond’s Christopher.

The pattern is simple. You need to know casting on, knitting in the round, simple adding and subtracting stitches. That’s it. You don’t even need to know how to purl. For some technical tips I put together (after making this hat about, oh, gazillion times), have a lookie here and here.

The result is a double-layer reversible hat, which makes it a plus in so many ways. From the male perspective: it is super warm, and if one side gets dirty he can just flip it onto the other one and pretend nothing happened. From the knitter’s perspective: everyone will think you are veeeery skillful (well, I’m sure you are anyway, but the point is, this is a real simple pattern to make, but non-knitters would never guess or believe that!), and you can play it safe with colours by making one bland side (the one he will probably wear) and one more adventurous one (just to please yourself).

Now, let’s just get this straight, though. When I say adventurous, I mean you might be allowed to add some stripes. But be prepared that when you ask what combination he wants, he might say: gray and gray. And if you try suggesting something else, he might make this face at you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

3 thoughts on “man hat

  1. So glad that you blogged about this pattern again. After seeing you first hats I bought the pattern and it has been sitting in my library ever since. I have just printed it out and I think I will knit a few for Christmas. Thanks!!

  2. Man hats are kind of the easiest, since they tend to not want anything fancy. I might have to try this one, I remember the ones you made were very cute!

Leave a Reply

