assembly

Remember way back when I kinda got into crochet? Well, that got off to a good start and in less than a month I already had more than 61 pieces to assemble. And then I just dropped it. I don’t remember how or why, but this blanket simply went out of sight. A few days ago, it came back. In order to sort out how big exactly I want it to be and how much more yarn I will need, I decided to first proceed with assembling what I have so far. And so the assembly has begun.

This is a cool pattern which combines crocheting the last round of the granny square with connecting the pieces at the same time. It’s easy and fun, and I’m enjoying it very much.

Have I mentioned how much I love the colours on this thing?

It is utterly possible that I will want to marry this blanket when it’s done.

In other news, there have been other types of assembly also happening in my little nest this weekend. A fruitful trip to IKEA turned me into an enthusiastic Bob the Builder for one Saturday evening and I now have a lovely new yarn cupboard. And to reward myself for all that hard work, some baking was included too…

These pumpkin cinnamon rolls were relatively easy to make and delicccious. The recipe is here, if you’re interested in doing some assembly yourselves…

Have a great week, everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

12 thoughts on “assembly

  1. Pumpkin cinnamon rolls…yum!
    Yes I think assembling the squares will make you see the progress and things will get more interesting.
    Don’t stop now!

  2. it’s probably true that by now most people have assembled an IKEA piece of forniture in their lives: ikea taught us more about the potential of DIY, and the creative side that it’s in all of us, than about furnishing a house on a budget!
    Grays and yellow look wonderful together!

    • For now I have enough pieces to make it about 1 square metre, after I’ve put them all together I’ll decide if I want to do more or stop at that…

  3. aaaah, this year I got addicted do cinnamon rolls and granny squares, and took some more people down with me :) Actually, it was African flower hexagons and a big yarn bombing in plan :)

  4. Ahh, I see that you have the same love of grey and yellow as I do :) It is going to be one stunning blanket.
    … and it’s not fair to post pictures of such delicious looking bakeries … two temptations in one post is hardly fair! :)

Leave a Reply

