i sewed a Something

Another one of the aims I set myself for 2013 was: sew something. Very ambitious, I know. But with one major craft obsession (knitting) and another craft crush (crochet) already on the plate, I wanted to go easy on myself. Goals like “learn to sew” seemed both too vague and too huge to accomplish. But “sew something, at least one thing” was much more achievable and motivating.

Luckily, I have a few friends who know about the craft, and have the tools for it as well. Last Sunday a few of us impulsively decided to have a crafting afternoon, and suddenly I found myself accomplishing my goal without any planning or preparation! Lookie!

I. Sewed. A. Something. It is very simple, and not perfect, but I did it, I did it, and by gosh the edges are kinda straight and nothing is falling off . It is even functional!

That’s one project bag that will be shown off with immense pride come my next Stitch’n’Bitch meeting!

So, first impressions? It was fun! I improvised the pattern, just by imagining how things would have to work, and doing a little sketching. It is definitely an exercise in three-dimensional visualising and logical sequencing. I’m not terribly good at the former, so it’s a nice challenge, and I dare say that I have a slight suspicion it will make me a better knitter as well.

In terms of the process, I found myself laughing at some point, as I thought to myself: “Well, I’m not patient enough for this!” All that measuring, drawing, cutting, sketching, trying out on paper, ironing, pinning… The actual sewing is like 10% of the time! At the same time, I remembered that the sentence I hear so often from people, after I tell them I knit, is: “Oh, I wouldn’t have the patience for that…” A knitter’s perspective is interesting… :)

And what’s next? Well, with this goal accomplished so early on, I think I may as well plan to sew Another Something. I really like this. Do you have any other recommendations for patterns/tutorials? I’d love to hear them!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “i sewed a Something

  1. I pretty much started where you did, and I learned so much from Lisa Lam’s website. Her tutorials are incredibly detailed and have lots of photographs. The Easy Peasy Purse Kit (http://u-handbag.typepad.com/uhandblog/buy-pdf-download-sewing-patterns-by-uhandbag-.html) is a brilliant way to start as you get all the bits you need to make a purse, which is useful and pretty. If you get the bag making bug her book (http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Bag-Making-Bible-Customizing/dp/071533624X/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1361299885&sr=8-3) will tell you everything you could possibly imagine about making bags and includes lots of fabulous patterns.

    A tutorial on how to make a Kindle cover is good http://charlottenewland.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/kindle-cover-tutorial_20.html

    Essentially if there is something you want to make just search for it and there is probably a tutorial!

    Have fun with learning how to sew, once it gets under your skin, it’s hard to stop!

  2. Lotta Jansdotter’s book Simple Sewing is a wonderful introduction to some very simply but very useful projects – curtains, pillows, draft snakes, oven mitts, aprons, yoga bags, etc. It was the perfect introduction for me to sewing, and a book I go back to again and again.

    Good luck!

  3. Well done! I think my real love is sewing – but I lack a sewing table, which is a must. Fighting with your family for a little (temporary) space on the kitchen table is not conducive to much sewing. Still, a little sewing is better than no sewing! (Though a bigger table would be even better :))

  4. Knitting seems the exact opposite! 90 percent of the time we’re just making the stitch over and over. The other 10 percent is probably swatching, seaming, and weaving in ends. Very cute bag.

  5. Pingback: preparations ongoing… | fridica

Leave a Reply

