two and a half legs to go…

…and I have already made five and a half vows that I will never ever ever knit this again.

And don’t even start with that “But it’s sooo cuuuuuteeee’ stuff like everyone else. Let me just explain to you that this involves making 8 tiny little heel turns, with short rows and picking up wraps and everything. Knitted in the round on 8 stitches. And changing colours too.

And yes, it has occurred to me that a rainbow octopus would be super cool. But no way. No. Someone else can do it. Shush now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “two and a half legs to go…

  1. If it helps, I always knit small tubes (like fingers) on just two needles. Then there’s less in the way, and you can’t tell.
    And it does look super cute!

  2. LOL! Thanks for the morning laugh! :D
    I’m sure you’ll forget how annoying it was when this little guy will be finished. Just keep in mind to never cast on again for this one and you’ll be good! :p
    8 socks? 8 heel turns? Gosh! How do you weave in your ends with these microscopic legs everywhere?

  3. o-my-gosh!! over the top cute but fiddly.
    personally fiddly doesn’t drive me over the brink..I have learned to like fiddly and love the toys it produces. I like to play around and use tiny toys as an opportunity to learn new techniques.
    like donadoodle points out you can use two dpn to hold the stitches and on needle to work them. or you can use the tiny legs as an opportunity to learn to double knit. if you can manage a ribbing you can double knit. once you have the basics you can use this when you knit something bigger.
    by the way I love waking up in the morning and finding an e-mail that you have posted ; ) thanks for entertaining me while I eat breakfast.

Leave a Reply

