crafty home

It’s been a year and a half since I’ve been in my flat – it’s crazy to think that my 2-year-long lease is almost near its end, when I had just moved in it felt as if I had signed a contract for all eternity! It’s become a real home in the meantime, and I am keeping my fingers crossed that there won’t be any problems with extending the lease. So, I thought it was about time I showed you some of the crafty details in My Home.

Probably my absolutely most favouritest thing in the apartment is this handmade crochet carpet by my friend Johanna. I was visiting her at home one Sunday and as she was showing me around her studio my eyes fell on this beauty. It came home with me that very same day.

Of course, my own works in progress are strewn across the apartment as well… This blanket is still on hold while I try to locate the right yarn for it, in the meantime it’s quite a cute decoration though…

Another thing omnipresent is memories from my travels, mostly in the form of postcards and photos. I nicked this simple idea for hanging things up from Pinterest.

Another Pinterest idea was collecting frames of different shapes and then painting them all one colour and displaying them together.

While I was at it I also painted some letters. Just for fun :) Paint is a bit dangerous, once you’ve got the brush in your hand you get the urge to paint EVERYTHING. :D

And finally, how could I skip showing you my crafting corner? :) It’s the first time I have one and I luuuurve it :) Though I do have to admit I end up working at my kitchen table much more often, I guess that’s just how things go…

My “custom yarn shelf” is two IKEA dvd towers stacked next to each other. On top of it are a makeshift yarn bowl (a Chinese rice bowl with a hole for chopsticks!), and an old swift which a friend inherited from her grandmother (I have a ball winder, she has a swift, and the two often migrate between our houses). The chair cover was sewn for me by another friend, and the fabric samples in embroidery hoops were yet another Pinterest idea…

I love my little nest! :) And now I’m off to go clean it, I have some guests arriving later in the week.. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

23 thoughts on “crafty home

    • What I do is print the pins out – then I have them in front of me physically and it’s much easier to pick one up and implement it… :)

  1. I love those yarn shelves; I’ve confined my skeins to bins for now. my crafting corner spills all over my room though; I’m jealous of how organized yours is. ^^

    • Haha, well don’t be fooled into thinking that this is ALL my yarn… The gray boxes in the bookshelf contain lots lots more… This is just the nice one for display ;)

  2. It’s been that long already? It feels like just yesterday that you blogged about moving.

    And I love your crafting corner. The DVD tower idea is great. I might need to look into that as a yarn display solution.

    • Tell me about it! And to think that back then I felt so overwhelmed by how “long” my lease was! :D

      I love the DVD towers, but do keep in mind they’re not the most stable in the world (well, IKEA does recommend attaching them to the wall, but I wanted to minimise drilling because it’s a rented flat and I’m not really supposed to drill much). But then again, it’s just yarn in them, nothing heavy, so as long as you don’t have little kids around it should be fine.

  3. You, in your little nest look so much like me in mine! I too picked ideas from Pinterest, painted things (you’re right, once you begin, you can”t stop! lol) :D. You realised my dream with the embroidery loops! This is my next decorating goal!
    Thank you for this lovely visit in your beautiful home. Crossing fingers and knitting needles for your lease extension

  4. you made your space look so nice – I hope you can extend the lease!
    I’ve always wanted to make one of those crochet rugs, but where to find super chunky yarn?

    • My friend who made the rug gets it from from a textile factory in Finland (where she’s from) that produces rolls of fabric for the clothing and fashion industry. Edges of the fabric rolls are cut off in the end of the production line. These cutoffs used to be thrown away but now some of them are recycled and used as yarn. Perhaps you could find something similar in Italy? Otherwise there is the Zpagetti yarn (http://www.zpagetti.com.au/categories/Zpagetti-yarn/) which lots of European yarn shops carry, but it is quite expensive…

    • Haha, no way! Actually it often ends up serving as storage… I tend to leave my wips on the desk, which then renders it unusable for actually working on them… But I’m trying to improve on that, and it makes me super happy when the space is clear and ready for me to use!

  5. I love how you’ve decorated and I’m supremely jealous of your crafting corner. I have some fabric in embroidery hoops too. They were given to me by a friend that moved away a few years ago and I love how they add little fun pops of color to a wall.

Leave a Reply

