my knitting set-up

Friends, I am in full swing! After months of toing and froing, trying to cast things on but not having the right yarn or the right needles, or finding the pattern too fiddly, I have finally found THE project to get me back into knitting. When I started working on it, the magic just happened. The yarn, the pattern, the needles, the rhythm, they just clicked all of a sudden. I almost wept. It was in that moment that I realised how dearly I had missed it all.

So the last few days I have been working feverishly on it whenever I get the chance, I have been daydreaming about working on it while at (actual real-life) work, I have even been stopping myself from working on it too much so that it wouldn’t go by so quickly. Oh, familiar feelings, how much I missed you!

Here is my knitting set-up.

The yarn – still in its paper bag from the shop (a wonderful new shop I discovered in Brussels, I hope to take some photos next time I’m there), I keep it close by so I can reach for a new ball easily – this is thick yarn and I am knitting like a mad woman, so I am reaching into that bag quite often!

The pattern – it’s this one, and I’ll write more about it when I’m finished. I always print my patterns so I can carry them around easily and scribble my notes on them when I need to.

The row counter – I held out for a long time before finally buying this nifty little gadget, but now I can’t imagine my life without it. I have tried many different ways of counting rows, but they would all eventually lead to situations of head-scratching and saying “Hmmm, did I mark that last row or not..?” Somehow, with this one, it doesn’t happen. And it makes a pleasing little sound whenever you click for a new row – total bonus! ;)

The flowers – just because. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “my knitting set-up

  1. Hello Fridica :) I have followed your blog for sometime popping in every now and again to see what you got going on. (Since I found out my grandfather was from Croatia I have collected a few links of croatian crafters on my blog that I follow so I can learn and feel close to his culture! Hope that doesn’t sound weird.) What a lovely pattern for your baby blanket Fridica ! and i’m loving the color of your yarn choice too! the castle is really going to show well in your color. I have that exact same clover counter ! that was the second counter i ever bought and I use it alot. My grandbabies love it too… click… click… click. always playing with it. Recently I found a very simple yet extremely functional counter iphone app that I use now all the time. It is developed by Thomas Tsopanakis. I actually got the app from itunes but here is his web site so you can see what the counter looks like –> http://thomastsopanakis.wordpress.com/2013/04/14/counters/
    I have tried other knitting counters and there was only one other that i liked but when i upgrade my phone the app malfunctions now :( But this counter by Tsopanakis is wonderful! It has four built-in counters. Each can be individually named and renamed as it suites you. You can use this counter for anything and everything. There is an option to turn on/off sound effects and there is NO limit to counter values you can go as large a number as you want or need! You can increase/decrease at touch of screen or you can ‘edit’ the entire number or just delete and start over. I LOVE the fact that i can name each section. I use ‘Total Rows’, ‘Total Stitches’, ‘Repeat Row #’, and ‘Repeat Section # Completed’ for my current project, The Daisy Shawl pattern by Ruth Sorenson (on Ravelry). As a sidenote, lol, I still use my clover counter along with my iphone app counter ! how funny is that!?! mainly because i’m still new to the tech world and don’t trust when stuff will quit functioning and my clover counter will always be my trusty backup for my total row # and secondly because now my grandkids have discovered how to use my iphone!

Leave a Reply

