happy birthday, Fran

A year ago exactly, my best friend had her first baby, a boy named Fran. I had, of course, made sure that he was well supplied with handknits from day 1 (and they have been well used and well loved). But a few days after his birth, I happened to be visiting an amazing yarn store. It gave me an idea. And then there was no stopping me anymore. I bought the yarn and pattern for Fran’s 1st birthday sweater when he was just a few days old, and had it finished a few months later.

When I had finished it, I wondered aloud at my knitting group about whether it would fit a 1-year-old. Half of my knitting group shrugged, they were as clueless about baby sizes as I was. The other half, those who had more experience with babies, had a good hearty laugh. “There is NO WAY that will fit a 1-year-old!” I was bummed, but had no choice but to try my luck. I did consider delivering it early, but that wouldn’t have helped much – what would a baby do with a thick woolen sweater in the middle of a Croatian summer? Well, in the end I’m happy to report that the doubters were wrong! It fits him very well! It’s true that it doesn’t leave him much room to grow, so a larger size may have been wiser, to last him longer, but it will definitely get a few wears before it is stored away for posterity.

As for the pattern itself, I was not thrilled with it. In many places it is unnecessarily wordy, which made it more difficult to follow. In other places it was not clear, which resulted in having to rip quite a large part of what is quite a simple pattern. (I’ve tried to make some helpful notes on my Ravelry page, if you’re using this pattern as well.) But that said, I still absolutely love the finished result and will surely be knitting it again.

So, to sum up, in what may be a historic first in my knitting career, I actually managed to knit and deliver a knitted gift on time. What on earth do I do now? Well, I am actually going to be back in London in a few days again, so I guess I’ll just have to buy the yarn for his 2nd birthday sweater… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

4 thoughts on “happy birthday, Fran

    • Oh, I didn’t mean to discourage you. I think some of the problems come from the fact that the pattern covers many sizes – and that means you have to pick out the directions for the size you’re making from the big amount of information (which in all honesty is not layouted in the best way). If you sat down and went through it carefully, I’m sure you’d be ok (the knitting itself is not challenging!). It’s a topic which I actually find fascinating, and hopefully will cover in a post to come soon.

Leave a Reply

