I bought myself a sweater

It was my birthday a few days ago (I know what you’re going to say – thank you :)

In recent years I have, slowly but surely, stepped into that age group where it‘s perfectly acceptable – instead of waiting and hoping that someone else will figure out exactly what my dream gift is and get it for me – to simply get it for myself. So that’s what I did. And I bought myself a sweater.

An Icelandic one at that!

The colour scheme I have planned out is like a “photo negative” of Ysolda’s original. I will use her yellow CC as my MC, and her gray MC as my CC. This will hopefully yield the most cheerful winter sweater around :) In any case I’ll keep you posted.

Now I’m off to play with my gift… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

12 thoughts on “I bought myself a sweater

  1. Happy Birthday! I plan to make that as my next sweater, only in turquoises, a decision that those who know me well would describe as most predictable. Happy Knitting! I love the idea of a sunny sweater for wintry days, I knit yellow socks for the same reason.

  2. happy birthday! where did you buy the wool from? I’m always on a look for a good place in europe where to buy yarn by mail. i’m loving icelandic knit patterns at the moment too – though i’m not attempting a sweater, mitts are a good enough project for me at the moment!

    • We have a good online shop in Belgium called “Dolcelana”, I usually order from them.

      But recently I’ve done some more research into other European online shops, and found that the French “Laine et Tricot” has by far the best prices (e.g. they sell this yarn in the photo for Eur 2.90 per ball, whereas I’ve found online shops which sell it for Eur 4.00 per ball) and a really good selection of yarns from all over the world.

      Other shops I’ve tried are “Penelope Crafts” (quite pricey but if you are looking for something specific it can come in handy), and the German “Wollbox.de”, which doesn’t have a terribly attractive website, but has a huge selection.

      A disclaimer: I’m mentioning these four shops because I’ve ordered from all of them at one point or another and never had problems.

  3. Ah, Létt-Lopi. I’m using Alafoss now. Make sure to keep a sticky roll around: this yarn sheds like crazy. And there are pieces of straw in it sometimes too, which is really funny.

    There’s also http://www.triscote.fr which is very reliable (I’ve ordered from them twice). They sell Létt-Lopi for 3.30€ per ball.

  4. Happy belated birthday! It’s perfectly right to buy yourself your birthday gifts! Wish you lot of fun knitting your sweater! :)

Leave a Reply

