mama’s big heart

My mom has just the biggest heart. She would never request anything for herself, the only (small and shy) requests she ever makes are for other people. So when she asked me to make a hat for a good friend and neighbour of hers, how could I refuse? Well, I must be honest and admit that I did mumble and grumble about not having time, about being under pressure to finish other gifts, about not liking to do custom orders for strangers, and all that, but in the end, I thought of my mama’s big heart and picked up the needles.

And (of course) in the end I was glad I did. This little item turned out to be one of my favourite makes ever. It was a great stash-buster, easy to knit, and involved some joint family effort (I’m looking at you, pompom). The finished object is playful and cheerful, and fits great. It’s what knitting’s all about.

The pattern is Thorpe, and it had been in my queue forever. The only guideline the recipient had given me was “the crazier the better”, which gave me a good excuse to play with colours, and Thorpe was the perfect blank-canvas pattern for that.

The pattern is free and well-written. Despite being a simple design, it includes some wonderful details, especially when it comes to finishing.

Even though the hat looked nice when the knitting was done, the finishing details (the crochet edge, the braids, the pompom) took it to the next level and made it look truly polished.

I thoroughly enjoyed both the process and the finished object, and will definitely go back to this pattern in the future. And I’m happy to say the recipient loved it as well!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

7 thoughts on “mama’s big heart

  1. Pingback: finished object: little thorpe | fridica

Leave a Reply

