Hendreary

Happy Monday everyone! You may have noticed that I’ve been trying to start up an FO Monday habit on this blog. It doesn’t alliterate as nicely as FO Friday, but in practical terms it makes more sense for me – as during the weekend I have much more time to take photos and think up a post. And it sure is a nice way to start off the week – while I’m still bleary-eyed and a bit shocked to find myself back at the office, it’s a little achievement already in the books and I get to show you something pretty (just in case you’re also bleary-eyed and shocked ;).

Of course my knitting is not nearly as productive to produce an FO a week, but the silver lining of last year’s knitting and blog freeze is that I have quite a few projects in the back log – waiting for some finishing touches or even just a photo session. Take this one, for example. It was knitted up in three days during the 2012 (yes you read that right) Xmas holidays, and gifted a few days later, but photos never happened. Until this weekend.

Hendreary is another Ysolda gem, and it came as part of her wonderful series Whimsical Little Knits (part 3). I knew I had to make it the moment I saw it. And it was just what I had imagined it to be – fun, addictive and fast to knit up, with an utterly adorable outcome. If you’re looking for your first Fair Isle project, this would be a very good one to start with.

I used Cascade 220, the non-Heathers variety this time, which I think is a bit heavier than the Heathers tones (and softer as well) – has anyone else had that experience? In any case I loved it, and as you can see after a solid year of wear (including a tough winter which lasted up until about the beginning of June), it is holding up very well. Another point for the Cascade team!

All in all a quick and enjoyable process with a bright and cheerful result! I hope those epithets are true of the week ahead as well!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “Hendreary

  1. Yet another wonderful FO (and a really good idea with the FO Monday thing – I’d take it up, but I seldom have a FO per week) ;)

  2. hey – how did you get your gift back? :)
    nice fair isle pattern, i’ve only used cascade yarns once (fingering) – they’re very convenient in the US, but not so from here in Italy.

    • Well, for once it was a gift to someone who lives close by, so I borrowed it back for a week :)
      I often order Cascade from the French online shop Laine et Tricot, they have quite good prices.

Leave a Reply

