a story with a happy ending

Hello. My name is Socktopus. I am from the planet Sockturn. Recently I was sent on an expedition to explore the Universe, and on my first stop I landed on Earth.

It was a bit of a rough  landing, and it took me a few moments to shake off the space dust off my many feet.

But as soon as I caught my breath, I decided to go for a walk and look around.

I saw what looked like an Earthling dwelling, and decided to go for a visit. There were some signs about it being forbidden for Dogs (which my Sockturnian space translator helpfully translated), but I didn’t know what Dogs were and I was pretty sure I wasn’t one, so I decided to go ahead.

I crossed the fence.

But I may have made some wrong movements or something, because all of a sudden I heard someone shouting “Oh myyyyyy, it’s a space invader! Ruuuuun!”. I guess extraterrestrials can look scary to Earthlings…

I pushed on, hoping I could explain to them calmly that I come in peace. I went to knock on the window, but I found there a horrible creature making extremely loud noises and demonstrating unbelievably sharp teeth.

So that’s what Dog is! No wonder they’re forbidden, those things are scaaaaary!

By this point, I was cold, tired, lonely and horribly frightened of Dog, so I just crawled into some sort of a shelter and cried myself to sleep. You may think extraterrestrials are scary, but we have feelings too!

But after a while, I was awoken by someone crouching down next to me and speaking softly. It was a female Earthling . At first, considering all my awful experiences on Earth so far, I was suspicious, but she turned out to be quite safe and kind. She offered to take me for a warm drink, which I accepted with joy! 

Very soon afterwards we had become good friends, and she asked me if I wanted to come live with her. I was delighted! I am happy to say I like Earth a lot more now and am looking forward to staying here for a while and exploring. If you meet me, please don’t be scared! Come say hello, we can have a caramel macchiato together and I’ll tell you all about Sockturn!

p.s. Caramel macchiatos are awesome!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “a story with a happy ending

  1. whoa …. could it be….. has a space invader turned you into a toy knitter.
    it looks like the aliens have taken over your needles and now you will be helpless in the face of cute tiny toy knitting

    • Haha! Well to be honest I am knitting another toy at the moment, and just like with Socktopus, I’m hating every moment of it… When it comes to toys I’m definitely a product knitter, no process love there at all! But the results are indeed adorable, so there will be some toys here from time to time.

Leave a Reply

