selfishhhhh

Since the beginning of the year, my knitting has been without exception gift oriented and on a deadline. January tends to be the month when knitters embark on utterly selfish (and I mean this in a positive sense) projects, in a swingback from all the Xmas gift knitting they had done in the last months of the previous year. I, on the other hand, only knitted one Xmas gift this year, but there was a backlog of gift knitting waiting for me in January. With several visits to friends’ new babies and similar activities planned, week upon week I was rushing to start, knit, finish, wash and dry projects in time to pack them up and take with me. I didn’t complain. None of those gifts were requested of me. I wanted to make them, offered to, even insisted. But man oh man, am I DONE.  No gift knitting for a while. The world can wait. This knitter is DONE. For the next few weeks, everybody can just sit back and quietly watch me work on something for MYSELF. And I don’t even want to hear a peep.

photo_medium2

The swatch is done, I love the fabric I got, and I am spot on with gauge, both before and after blocking. Yup, I did this right. I even knitted the swatch in the round. I’ve studied the notes of pretty much every single Raveler who ever even contemplated knitting this pattern, I’ve measured and remeasured myself and made deliberate decisions on sizing. I’m ready to be as selfish as possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

3 thoughts on “selfishhhhh

  1. Pingback: winter lines | fridica

Leave a Reply

