not the best week

Things have been known to be better here at camp fridica. Several things are keeping me chained to my room, and they don’t even involve crafting! The lack of crafting is partially due to lack of time (I’m currently working as a freelancer, and if you know anything about freelancing you probably know that it boils down to not having anything to do for a while, and then having 10 huge tasks pile up, all at once, unexpecdetly), and partially due to various physical ailments, including: a nasty headcold that I’ve been trying to fight off by consuming unprecedented amounts of tea, honey and chicken soup (we’re still at a stand-off, the headcold and me, that is), aching fingertips (from spending about 8 hours a day typing incessantly), as well as a very painful right arm (from having played air hockey vigorously on Monday – though I’m not sure I regret that as it’s been basically the only hour of pastime this week). This all resulted in knitting not being terribly comfortable, even when I managed to squeeze it in a bit.

Which is all to say I had to find some other quick crafty thing to do. And I did. There was this little knitted goodie that’s been sitting in my room for a while, waiting for me to find the time to get it an envelope and mail it off. But once I got the standard padded yellow envelope, it seemed so ugly! Perfect excuse to do some experimental crafting. Following some examples I saw online of using paper doilies to decorate gifts and suchlike, I bought a set of paper doilies, some paper glue, and I was off.

In the process, I found out some things. Such as that paper doilies are thin. And I mean thin. And that glue shows through.

I also considered some practicalities, such as what will happen if the doily gets ripped off by accident while being handled in the mailing process. Just in case, I wrote the address of the recepient both on the envelope under the doily and on the doily itself.

And here is the final result! It’s the same on the back too.

Not bad for a first try! Definitely cheers up the yellow envelope a bit :) I did consider adding some blue twine to make it look like a gift, but I wasn’t sure how the post office would feel about things sticking out of the package in all directions, so I held off for now.  In any case I’m pretty happy with how it came out, and since I bought a few more doilies, I’ll definitely be trying it out again.

Quick, fun, and no typing involved. Just what I needed. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

20 thoughts on “not the best week

    • I took it to the post-office today, and the post-lady put about 20 flower-themed stamps on it – it made it so much prettier! I love it when real stamps are used, a lot of the time these days when I take stuff to the post-office they just put a printed sticker showing the amount of postage paid on it, which is so much less charming! She was also careful to place the stamps *around* the doily, even though I hadn’t asked her to, which I thought was so sweet :)

  1. Hope the physical ailments ease off – and I’m terribly glad that as a freelancer you got enough work to keep you very busy for now. The packaging looks so beautiful, what a great idea!

    • Thank you! Yup, I’m not complaining, but if only the work would want to space out a bit… I had to refuse another offer today because I just didn’t have the time, which probably won’t come up again in April when I’m done with the current stuff :D Aaah the life of freelancing :) The packaging really isn’t my idea, I wish I had saved a few of the links where I saw similar stuff…

  2. So sorry you’ve not been well. There’s truly nothing more miserable than a head cold.

    I love your envelope idea!

    The upside of being a harried freelancer is that you’re in demand. :-)

    Hope you can relax and have some fun soon.

    • I panicked a bit when the first signs of a cold showed up. No way to move these deadlines, so being sick was not an option! Luckily the soup and tea seem to be helping :) Thanks for the well wishing :)

    • Hahaha, yes, the arm pain really freaked me out! I had to consider for a moment what life would be like without knitting, eeek! Not a good thought!

  3. That’s such a nifty idea! I never think of stuff like that. Must remember that for future packages.

    Hope you are feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

