another bootie!

I warned you, I’m obssessed! But since I’m making so many of these baby booties, I thought it’d be a good idea to show you how they look in progress. Here’s one about halfway done.

Not looking very much like a bootie at all, huh? I know. I was a bit suspicious the first time around, but it works perfectly well. As you can tell, up to this stage it’s only garter stitch. For the last five centimeters you only work on the centre 10 stitches, but it’s not short rows or anything like that. You simply ignore the other stitches. I find this easier to do when I place the non-active stitches on separate DPNs so they’re out of the way, but this is not obligatory. You could knit this whole thing with just two straight needles.

The next step will be to pick up stitches along the two vertical sides of the central 10 pillar (the little thing that’s poking out), and then knitting all the stitches in garter again for a while. The picking up of stitches is the most demanding part of this pattern, and you’ll probably agree that picking up about a total of 20 stitches is not terribly demanding. :) I have a little trick I’ve conjured to avoid breaking yarn at any point, so if I manage to get good photos I might show you that in my next bootie post.

I think the yarn I’m using for this was a gift. I don’t think I was terribly pleased when I got it. I don’t know what you call this kind of yarn, it’s not variegated, instead it’s several strands of different colours plied together.

 

Not my kind of thing at all. But I’ve already learned that all yarns have potential, if only you can find the right project for them. And I have to say, I think I’ve discovered the true potential of this one!

I’m loooooving how it looks in garter stitch! From this perspective, it makes me think of hot oriental spices, not a sensation I normally associate with knitting but a good one none the less :) I’ll be giving the booties a name in accordance with that, but I haven’t quite settled on the particular spice yet… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

23 thoughts on “another bootie!

  1. Ooh, I like that yarn! It does look good in garter stitch. The booties turn out so cute! Have you tried knitting them on bigger needles and felting them? I wonder how that would turn out.

  2. I think yarn made up of two or more differently coloured strands twisted together is usually known as ‘marl’, and the yarn is said to be ‘marled’. If you Google ‘marl yarn’ you should see a few examples. Spinners sometimes call it ‘barber polling’ and I have seen a few other terms used to describe it, but that’s the one I always use. :D

    • I came across a blog post saying something like “Just follow the instructions, even though they don’t seem to make any sense. It will work.” That pretty much sums up how I felt about the booties! :) What a discovery! :)

    • Thanks, it’s been a long time since I’ve played with the layout! I read all my blogs via RSS reader, and seem to forget sometimes that they exist in their website form as well… :)

  3. This yarn looks beautiful for a baby and a spice name is quite appropriate, I agree! Enjoy the wonderful spring weekend (not so warm over here though)!

Leave a Reply

