babies all around

Today was a crazy day – my best friend in the world had her first baby! I stayed up most of the night reading and responding to her text messages, and just being happy :) It was wonderful to share these moments with her and I look forward to knitting loads and loads for her little boy.

In general, babies have lately been popping up all around me, and I am becoming quite an expert in tiny knits! This little gem was one of them and I can only highly recommend the (free) pattern.

It is interesting to knit (it involves a very clever use of short rows), and in a thick yarn is very quick! The final shape is best described as “head-hugging” – designed to stay on and keep as much of the head as warm as possible.

Upon some reflection I decided to sew on two buttons, so that the chin strap will be adjustable and the hat will last a bit longer, even with those fast-growing babies.

Finally, a word on the yarn – it is Spud and Chloe Sweater, which to be honest I’m not a big fan of. It is very soft, but after several projects I’ve just had to conclude that I don’t like how the stitches look, so, especially with the price, I won’t be bothering with it anymore once I use up what’s in my stash. I know many people are very happy with this yarn, but it’s just not my thing.

I’ll have some more baby knits to show you soon! Stay tuned… ;)