blue

As I already explained, I don’t own many books on knitting. One of the few I’ve succumbed to, though, is Boutique Knits by Laura Irwin.

I’m a big lover of hats of all shapes and sizes, and this book contains some that I simply adore. It also features interesting structural solutions, and while the patterns do not have that additional element of pampering the knitter that I so love in other designers (e.g. line by line instructions, detailed explanations), they are clear and concise. Even though I’ve had the book for almost a full year now, I’ve only made one design from it. How is this possible?! Indeed, I must rectify this situation asap! My first candidate is the hat pictured on the cover of the book (Side Slip Cloche), and the second one is this (click the photo to find the pattern on Ravelry).

In the meantime, let me show you the one and only I’ve made so far: Argyle Lace Hat.

It is modelled gracefully by my former flatmate, who got to keep it!

I had some issues with this project, and considered ripping it for a while, but Sana liked it. It was my first lace ever so it looks really sloppy. Also, there are way too many buttons, which makes that side of the hat very stiff and just weird, if you ask me.

And the visible crown decreases make it look a bit too much like a chef’s hat for my taste.

However, if you have lots of hair, the extra slouchiness will come in handy!

And finally, I cannot stress enough how much I love love love the brim – I will definitely be using it for many projects to come. It is so simple to make and yet so decorative. All in all, I was surprized by the reaction on Ravelry – this seems to be one of my hats that other people like the most!